Clean Getaway by Nic Stone

This is the perfect book at the perfect time. The story provides a gentle way to give kids some background knowledge behind the Black Lives Matter movement.

Summary from GoodReads:

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
* Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
* Fasten Your Seatbelt: G’ma’s never conventional, so this trip won’t be either.
* Use the Green Book: G’ma’s most treasured possession. It holds, history, memories, and most important, the way home.


What Not to Bring:
* A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G’ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover the world hasn’t always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren’t always what they seem–his G’ma included.

Find it in CWMARS.

Efren Divided by Ernesto Cisneros

Readers get to walk a mile in Efren’s shoes and really feel what it’s like to have a parent deported and to have to parent your own siblings. Reading builds empathy and this one does it well.

Summary from GoodReads:

Efrén Nava’s Amá is his Superwoman – or Soperwoman, named after the delicious Mexican sopes his mother often prepares. Both Amá and Apá work hard all day to provide for the family, making sure Efrén and his younger siblings Max and Mía feel safe and loved.

But Efrén worries about his parents; although he’s American-born, his parents are undocumented. His worst nightmare comes true one day when Amá doesn’t return from work and is deported across the border to Tijuana, México.

Now more than ever, Efrén must channel his inner Soperboy to help take care of and try to reunite his family.

Find it in CWMARS.

Winterhouse by Ben Guterson

winterhouse

I loved this book! Strong female lead, great example of a solid boy and girl friendship, awesome setting, puzzles, mystery, clues, fantasy elements and fun full page illustrations to boot! I can’t wait to read the sequels!

Summary from GoodReads:

Orphan Elizabeth Somers’s malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms―most notably its massive library. It’s not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel’s secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel’s curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Find it in CWMARS.

 

 

Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

gregor2

This book has popped up on many “If you like Harry Potter, try these books” lists. It’s really good! I would probably compare it more to The Hobbit than to HP; but I think it makes the lists because it’s an adventure tale with strong world building. This series is written by the same author who wrote The Hunger Games. The Hunger Games is best for teens, this series is perfect for that 8-12 years range.

Summary from GoodReads:

This irresistible first novel tells the story of a quiet boy who embarks on a dangerous quest in order to fulfill his destiny—and find his father—in a strange world beneath New York City.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor’s arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland’s uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it — until he realizes it’s the only way to solve the mystery of his father’s disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.

Find it in CWMARS.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbitt

I reread The Hobbit for the first time since my teens and really enjoyed it. All Harry Potter fans should read this book; it’s obvious that Tolkien influenced the writing of J.K. Rowling. A classic adventure story.

Summary from GoodReads:

In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.
Written for J.R.R. Tolkien’s own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when it was first published in 1937. Now recognized as a timeless classic, this introduction to the hobbit Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf, Gollum, and the spectacular world of Middle-earth recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent.

Find it in CWMARS.

When Stars are Scattered by Omar Mohamed

stars

This is a really special and beautiful book. The illustrations and coloring are beautiful. The story is beautiful. You will be touched and inspired by this story of two brothers. The authors write, “It is a valiant and agonizing struggle to focus not on what you have LOST…but on what you have been GIVEN.” Recommended for ages 9-12.

Summary from GoodReads:

Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life is hard there: never enough food, achingly dull, and without access to the medical care Omar knows his nonverbal brother needs. So when Omar has the opportunity to go to school, he knows it might be a chance to change their future . . . but it would also mean leaving his brother, the only family member he has left, every day.

Heartbreak, hope, and gentle humor exist together in this graphic novel about a childhood spent waiting, and a young man who is able to create a sense of family and home in the most difficult of settings. It’s an intimate, important, unforgettable look at the day-to-day life of a refugee, as told to New York Times Bestselling author/artist Victoria Jamieson by Omar Mohamed, the Somali man who lived the story.

Find it in CWMARS.

Stepping Stones by Lucy Knisley

stones

Any work by Knisley is a delight and her first foray into juvenile graphic novels is no exception. Fun reading for anyone, but perfect for any child of divorce. Recommended for children 8-12 years.

Summary from GoodReads:

Jen did not want to leave the city. She did not want to move to a farm with her mom and her mom’s new boyfriend, Walter. She did not want to leave her friends and her dad.

Most of all, Jen did not want to get new “sisters,” Andy and Reese.

If learning new chores on Peapod Farm wasn’t hard enough, then having to deal with perfect-at-everything Andy might be the last straw for Jen. Besides cleaning the chicken coop, trying to keep up with the customers at the local farmers’ market, and missing her old life, Jen has to deal with her own insecurities about this new family . . . and where she fits in.

Find it in CWMARS

Jackpot by Nic Stone

jackpot

A sweet teen romance that surrounds a quest for a lottery ticket. Covers lots of interesting intersections between race and class.

Summary from GoodReads:

Meet Rico: high school senior and afternoon-shift cashier at the Gas ‘n’ Go, who after school and work races home to take care of her younger brother. Every. Single. Day. When Rico sells a jackpot-winning lotto ticket, she thinks maybe her luck will finally change, but only if she–with some assistance from her popular and wildly rich classmate Zan–can find the ticket holder who hasn’t claimed the prize. But what happens when have and have-nots collide? Will this investigative duo unite…or divide?

Find it in CWMARS.

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

juliet

I loved this book. Walk with Juliet as she struggles to understand all the intersections of her personality. Perfect for anyone who’s not quite sure who they are or where they are going. To be read when you need to remind yourself that there is a big world outside of your small New England town.

Summary from GoodReads:

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff.

Will Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical summer? Is that even possible? Or is she running away from all the problems that seem too big to handle?

With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself.

Find it in CWMARS

Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

race

This book was pretty awesome. If you have kids who enjoyed Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, they will like this book. It’s fun and fast paced. I love that the main characters are contemporary Native Americans. I love that Nizhoni is a really strong female who totally kicks butt. I’m super excited to check out more titles from the “Rick Riordan Presents” collection featuring diverse voices.

Find it in CWMARS

Summary from GoodReads:

Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect monsters, like that man in the fancy suit who was in the bleachers at her basketball game. Turns out he’s Mr. Charles, her dad’s new boss at the oil and gas company, and he’s alarmingly interested in Nizhoni and her brother, Mac, their Navajo heritage, and the legend of the Hero Twins. Nizhoni knows he’s a threat, but her father won’t believe her.

When Dad disappears the next day, leaving behind a message that says “Run!”, the siblings and Nizhoni’s best friend, Davery, are thrust into a rescue mission that can only be accomplished with the help of Diné Holy People, all disguised as quirky characters. Their aid will come at a price: the kids must pass a series of trials in which it seems like nature itself is out to kill them. If Nizhoni, Mac, and Davery can reach the House of the Sun, they will be outfitted with what they need to defeat the ancient monsters Mr. Charles has unleashed. But it will take more than weapons for Nizhoni to become the hero she was destined to be . . .

Timeless themes such as the importance of family and respect for the land resonate in this funny, fast-paced, and exciting quest adventure set in the American Southwest.